Levin Classic

The Group One Levin Classic is one of NZ’s premier races for three year old thoroughbreds over 1600m. 

The Classic is run each season in January at the Trentham Race Course and as part of the Wellington Cup Carnival Programme

The 2016 Levin Classic Group 1 was held on Saturday 16th January 2015 on a dead 6 with a time of 1.36.96Winner was Dukedom (Batchelor Duke - Bianca Bay (Aus 2005), 2nd Son of Maher, 3rd Ranipo and 4th Extravagant

The 2015 Levin Classic Group 1 was held on Saturday, 17th January 2015, on a goodtrack with a time of 1.36.67 .  Winner was Gaultier (Rios NZ 2004 – Playacting (Aus) 1996) trained by D Guy and ridden by Michael Coleman. 2nd Sardaaj 3rd Huka Eagle


2016 Winner - Dukedom

Jockey - Lisa Allpress
Trainer- Steven Cole

2015 Winner - Gaultier

Jockey - Michael Coleman
Trainer D Guy

2014 Winner - Recite

Jockey -Mark Du Plessis
Trainer - John Bary

Levin Classic

2012 Winner – Southern Lord

The 2012 Classic was run on Friday 30 November on a Good 3 track and time of 1.34.63.  Winner was Southern Lord (AUS) (Stratum (AUS 2002 – Angel Girl (AUS) 2003) trained by Alan Tait and ridden by Kelly Myers.  2nd Le Choix (AUS) 3rd Soriano


2011 Winner – Distill

The 2011 Classic was run on Friday 25th November on a Good 3 track and time of 1.35.97.  Winner was Distill (Voksraad (GB) 1988 – Fairy Tipsy (NZ) 1996) trained by Roydon Bergerson and ridden by Robert Hannam.


2010 Winner – We Can Say It Now

The 2010 Classic was run on Friday 26th November and was taken out by the imposing filly – WE CAN SAY IT NOW – a daughter of Star Craft this impressive filly went on to win the Group 1 Captain Cook Stakes at Trentham at her next start.  Trained by Bjorn and Murray Baker from Cambridge and ridden by Leith Innes the filly was simply too strong for runners up Blinding and Lady Kipling.


2009 Winner – Eileen Dubh

The 2009 Levin Classic was run on Friday, 27 November at Otaki Racecourse with Eileen Dubh scoring a first ever Group winner for trainer Francis Finnegan.

2008 Winner - Altered Image

Altered Image ran a race record in snaring the 2008 Levin Classic .Keepa Cruisin lived up to the family tradition of Group One success and took the honours in b First Sovereign Trust Levin Classic.

2007 Winner - Porotene Gem

Porotene Gem took the honours in 2006 with a great run timed perfectly by jockey David Walker.

2005 Winner - Wahid

The 2005 Levin Classic was another dramatic race with Wahid winning by a nose.

There have been many great winners of the classic but perhaps the greatest of them all was the 1983 winner, Bonechrusher.